Inspiring active learners and leaders who make a difference

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

The school is governed by the Board of Trustees and consists of seven members: five elected parent representatives, one elected staff member and the Principal, the Board may co-opt additional members.

The five parent trustees are elected by parents for a three-year term; we have two positions elected midterm and three positions at end of the term, to ensure continuity on the Board. Our current members are:

Board of Trustees

Presiding – Elected May 2019, Elected September 2022 Evan Bateup
Parent Trustee – Elected November 2023 Shahda Baghadadi
Parent Trustee – Elected November 2023 Rania Alani
Parent Trustee – Elected September 2022 Jenny Yu
Principal Carla Veldman
Staff Trustee – Elected September 2022     Darren Mathers

Trustees are responsible for the governance of our school. Their important role ensures that the needs of the children and their learning are paramount.

Board meetings are open meetings and are held twice a term on a Wednesday (usually) in the Boardroom. Notification of each meeting is via the school newsletter and school calendar. Members of the public are welcome to attend. Please contact the school office or email the Presiding Member if you plan to attend a meeting.

The Board can be contacted via, or through the School office, Phone: 09 478 0301, or write to:

Board Chairperson, Pinehill School
Hugh Green Drive
Browns Bay

For further information on becoming a school trustee please follow the link to the New Zealand School Trustees Association NZSTA Becoming a Trustee.

Other Documents

  • Board of Trustees Policies

All School policies are available through School Docs – click here to login.
Username: Pinehill
Password: pinehillway